A Bajillion Single Knitting Needles!!

I spent a few days at home this week, and my Nana is on a “getting rid of stuff that isn’t hers/ she doesnt use any more/ she doesn’t want any more” spree.

In the pile of stuff she had set aside for me was a whole heap of fabrics, and a bunch of knitting needles.

Turns out, although most are in pairs, there are an awful lot that are mismatched!

pb250004.JPG 

The Boy has estimated a round figure of infintiy, but latest polls show 17 (thats not even an even number!!) that are odd.

Also there are 36 (18 pairs) of plastic needles. I don’t like knitting with these as I find them too flexible.

 The real question here is, WHAT ON EARTH DO I DO WITH THEM?

While they are all my Nana’s, some of them (and I bet I can tell which, they are so cool!) came form HER mother, so I don’t really want to just get rid of them. I need some sort of crafty pursuit to undertake with them, any ideas?

On the note of sock wars…still knitting, albeit slowly. No doubt I’m in the process of being dealt a swift blow via international post. Photos still to come……

3 Responses to “A Bajillion Single Knitting Needles!!”


  1. 1 Brianne October 2, 2006 at 12:41 pm

    …maybe not so swift a blow 😉
    Hi, I’m Brianne your assassin.
    I have (finally) finished sock #1,
    Still need to finish the toe of sock #2…
    Then, once I get to the post office, you’ll still have 4-5 business days before they arrive.
    Is there anything (that will clear customs) you want me to include in the package from California?
    Knit on 😉

  2. 2 jessie November 4, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    ooh! my sister collects them and then puts them on top of bookshelves in mason jars as installation art. also, i can see using them as necklace holders-maybe using one of the bigger ones for that, and then tying pretty ribbon to either end as a holder? or building picture frames with them, perhaps?

  3. 3 secret swappers December 15, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    How about making them into jewlery? heating the plastic ones up and bend them into braclets? I know I am going to be searching for some old plastic needles to try this out


Leave a Reply

September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


