50 and a “silent auction”

This is my 50th post, and I would not have made it thus far without the knowledge that someone out there was interested in what I had to say. I think that’s the fundemental difference between keeping a diary and blog, both a record of the same things. I’ve never fared well with a journal, loving the new spiral bound pristine pages, but feeling the enthusiasm fade as each day passes. A blog is new and fresh, you never have to thumb through the old pages to get to the next clean one, and you can change your surrounds simply by uploading a new photo.

However the best thing about the craft-blog community is the inclusive, sharing nature of the people, from swaps to colourweeks to give-aways. I really enjoying checking in with the people on my long list of feeds in the mornings, but don’t always leave a comment- I’m trying to get better at this though! I know you lurkers are out there and would love to add you to my list, and check out what you’re up to too!

(Here’s where we digress) When I was about 10 my school held a “silent auction” as a fundraiser. Instead of having an auctioneer all the items were laid out around the hall with little auction cards, where you wrote your name and the amount you bid. At the end of the night, the highest bidders won. (I guess a bit like an e-bay auction really).

To try and coax you lurkers out of hiding I’m offering up a scarf.

p1010004-1.jpg

Brown linen, with a cream microfleece backing and machine-stitched tree design, with patches of japanese printed cotton.

Be the last person to comment by this time tommorow and she’s all yours! (And don’t feel bad for delurking to get loot- that’s exactly what I want you to do!)

I look forward to meeting you all!

:: Mother’s Day gifts :: 2 1 new scarves :: A winter coat ::

2 Responses to “50 and a “silent auction””


  1. 1 Carolyn May 19, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    Helloooooo! I’m enjoying reading your site having found you via Cheeky Beeks. Nothing like a giveaway to bring up the lurkers!

  2. 2 melissa May 21, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    what a beautiful scarf! i love the tree applique, and the microfleece back would keep you so cosy i’m sure.


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives


