The FO Files

While I’m studying there’s very little crafting occuring around these parts. So I’m delving into the archives to document the multitudes of projects I, for one reason or another, never posted!

The Christmas Skirt

p1010013-1.jpg

This is the most beautiful fabric, that was given to me by my paternal Nana. She was given it for her 21st birthday from her mother to make a dress, but one thing led to another and she could never bring herself to cut into it. We all identify with that feeling right? It’s mercerized cotton, so has a lustre on one side.

I made this simple pleated skirt to wear to our family Christmas event last year, I was so excited to see the look on Nana’s face when she saw me in it, as she didn’t know I was making it. It was worth it!

p1010018-2.jpg

It’s on a low yoke which brings the tops of the pleats to the widest part of my hips. Very flattering on almost any body type, I’d imagine. It certainly does wonders for my wide hips!

I love it so much, but it’s getting kinda chilly around these parts for a lightweight summer skirt, even with knee-highs underneath. I’ve been thinking of making a woolen petticoat for a while now, so I think I foresee a pair of these in my future! (anyone for a KAL 😛 )

3 Responses to “The FO Files”


  1. 1 nuttnbunny June 14, 2007 at 2:12 am

    That is a seriously fantastic garment. I love that you’re wearing family history 🙂

    Wish I could KAL but I can’t. Too many other current obligations. You know how that goes…

  2. 2 melissa June 14, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    i am completely in love with that skirt. it’s beautiful fabric, and so cool that it has that history. thanks for sharing it!

  3. 3 Megan June 15, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    What wide hips?

    Absolutely fantastic skirt, and doubly so with such a great story.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


