The FO Files

Turning a $2 size XL men’s (pure wool) jersey into yarn.

pc160010.jpg

After a brief foray into dying with drink mix I ditched it for the hard stuff- food colouring! I didn’t have a big enough pot so I used this plastic bucket in the electric frying pan. Not really the smartest idea considering plastic is an insulator. Hmm.

So I put the red food colouring in the bottom, added the wool and put the yellow on top. After getting fed up with it not really heating up (um, duh) I poured a few jugfuls of boiling water it and hey presto the wool sucked up all the colour.

pc160013.jpg

It looks really good in the bath, but the colour is slightly muted when dry. Not pastelly though.

After it was dry I wound it into 3 of the biggest balls of wool I have ever seen.

pc160018.jpg

Yes, it took me over 2 hours to untangle this particular knot.

And then, I did NOTHING with it! (Well, not true, I cast on and knit 3/4 of a Clapotis, but I don’t really like it and it’s not really my colour.) So I might as well have done actually nothing.

Maybe one day I will knit it up and felt it into a floor mat/carpet. Or make some more socks- My toes are awful cold in the chilly Christchurch weather.

1 Response to “The FO Files”


  1. 1 nuttnbunny June 17, 2007 at 1:00 am

    The colors look GREAT! Would make lovely berets 🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


