Feeling the Love

This morning when we checked the mail there was a rather exciting looking package in the back of the box. (How the postie gets it there is beyond me as it’s behind a hedge and fence. Anyhoo.)

Thankyou Carolyn!

p1010004-2.jpg

A super cute wee knitted (and felted?) bag, with a handful of beautiful vintage buttons. Will be saved for a special project or two I’m sure! The bag has a cute wee piece of ribbon around the top of the inside, with a tab of the same ribbon on the edge- a lovely finishing touch.

Also entering our home and tripling my fibre stash was a carload of goodies from my good friend Penny’s Mum (Penny only drives a mini!) Nicola is an avid crafter and has recently started supplying a NZ shop with the beautiful skirts she makes from new and recycled fabrics. As a result she has decided that  she’s moving away from the fibre side of her crafting and has given me a whole heap of fibre, yarn and books!

 p1010009-2.jpg

Books and magazines including Spin-off and Interweave Knitting.

p1010011.jpg

Fine Romney and some unidentified white fibre in the bottom of the bag.

p1010014.jpg

A whole stack of this wool…maybe enough for a mens jersey, or I see farm socks in all my male relatives Christmassy futures!

p1010012.jpg

And the super jackpot- An easy chair full of mohair blend wool in “tutti fruity”, “paua” and a colour I’m going to call “midnight”.

True to form I found an empty bobbin and started spinning “tutti fruity” right away. No idea what it will end up as- apart from yarn- at this stage! I’m not sure I really like it but I know that as you spin and then ply a fibre it changes dramatically so I’m going to persevere. It might be fine enough for a lace shawl, especially if I use larger needles- so might flirt with that idea a little more.

Also, am about to order this. Here’s hoping the photography will start to improve!

4 Responses to “Feeling the Love”


  1. 1 Felicia June 19, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Beautiful bag and lovely new treasures!

  2. 2 nuttnbunny June 19, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Fun stuff.

    I may have just bought a spinning wheel. Will DEFINITELY need your help!!!

  3. 3 melissa June 19, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    lovely new treasures- lucky you! you’ll have such a nice time curled up by the heater with those knitting magazines. x

  4. 4 Carolyn June 22, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Glad you liked the parcel!


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


