The Man Scarf

I’ve been bugging Michael for a while to let me knit him a scarf, but he’s been protesting it’s a bit girly. (Girly as in being snug and toasty? I don’t get it.)  Somehow the other night I got him to cave and agree to a plain dark coloured scarf with square cables up the front. Square cables? Do they exist? I was all set to head off to the library when I spied the psychadelic wool I dyed in Michael’s favourite colour- Venom Green (yes, venom is a particular shade of green and I think I captured it rather well. Actually venom green is just in reference to any shade of green in our home, but I honestly think it doesn’t come much more venomy than this!)

I spun it up (what a dream- I think it was the softest, butteriest merino ever) and plied it with some of the “fine romney” that came in the extreme fibre haul a few weeks back. Both of these I spun much thicker, with less twist, than I would normally have and I ended up with a light, lofty yarn, really rather nice. It passed the approval police and I’ve started knitting it into a rather lovely man scarf, which I think could go either way.

I really like how the sublte colour changes pop with the dark romney and give the impression of horizontal stripes.

The pattern is ingenious, one I’ve had in the back of my mind for about a year now, and I memorised it after only two repeats (hey- its only two lines!). When you read it is seems a bit tricky but when you settle down and get into it with real life yarn and needles is a breeze. Give it a whirl- I think I’m going to to try and turn it into a hat sometime soon.

2 Responses to “The Man Scarf”


  1. 1 Gill June 27, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Hi Thanks for stopping by my blog, your spinning is adorable I havn’t done it for years I’m quite inspired.Thanks

  2. 2 nuttnbunny June 29, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Total yum!!! May try this with some Malabrigo after some other things are complete…


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives


