While it’s still cold….

There’s plenty of time to get some wear out of my brand new coat!

After a little button angst (I didn’t buy enough self cover buttons, Mum’s fancy new sewing machine which makes one-step, automatic button holes wouldn’t make a big enough button hole, then a second button shopping trip yeilded some Fabulous buttons, and I took the plunge and used my machine to make the button holes).

n.b. My machine’s feed dog won’t drop so button holes are a little tricky- but given it’s age and beauty (born 1953) I forgive it this one little thing!

Some careful measuring and not a mistake you can see when the buttons are done up.

And buttoned right up (the preferred style in the current weather), note the lovely brooch.

Whats that I hear? You’d like to see a close up of the buttons?

It’s just a shame that I can’t see them when I’m wearing it!

The only thing I would change next time is the addition of some pockets- I’ve tried to “use” them about 15 times today!!!

3 Responses to “While it’s still cold….”


  1. 1 nuttnbunny July 17, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Right on! Love the buttons. Think I’d have a fit w/o pockets.

  2. 2 Erica July 18, 2007 at 1:35 am

    Ummm…..WOW…double WOW! You never cease to amaze me with just how super talented you are at everything you attempt! Lovely coat, lovely buttons, lovely you! But I too would DIE without pockets!

  3. 3 melissa July 19, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    oh. my. that is an AMAZING coat. i’m so jealous.

    p.s. and a bit flattered that you took the picture with my brooch on! you’re too sweet.


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives


