In my garden….

When we were little we had a tape with lots of kids songs on it. One was about the garden:

In my garden, there is a little kowhai tree in my garden, and it’s just about as tall as me. (It went through all the native trees- rimu, matai, pohutukawa etc…)

(There was also one: there are pigs wearing wigs in the garden, eggs with legs in the garden, you get the picture!)

We don’t really have a garden to speak of at the flat- Pedro would soon see to it, but there is a space out the back where someone has had a garden in the past- a row of strawberries that need weeding and some unruly bok choy plants. Inspired by the feeling of picking bok choy and adding it to a stir fry I decided to put a few things in for the coming spring/summer season, so that means starting to grow some seeds and digging over the garden now.

Seeds

This afternoon Michael and I headed up the road to the gardening shop and picked out some seeds each. I chose a lettuce mix, cherry tomatoes and a zucchini. Michael chose some herbs- coriander, basil, chives and oregano. We made some little pots by wrapping wet newspaper around a spice jar and dunking in water, filled them up with seed-raising mix and planted our seeds.

Seeds

They’re sitting on top of the fridge in a warm spot, quietly germinating (or at least we hope so!)

 In other, exciting news, on our walk this afternoon I was thrilled to find spring blossum begining to bloom. Will take my camera with me and report back tommorow!

7 Responses to “In my garden….”


  1. 1 melissa August 13, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    ooh, lovely- there’s nothing nicer than planting a lot of seeds like that then waiting… plus it means that spring must be close by!

  2. 2 sherrieg August 14, 2007 at 12:05 am

    I wish I knew that song! It sounds like a fun one. I also wish I’d heard of those trees! The names sounds lovely. 🙂 I think you’ll enjoy the lettuce – we’ve been having beautiful salads all summer, and it’s the easiest thing to grow! 🙂

  3. 3 Amber3 April 21, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    Can you remember what the kid’s songs tape was called? Or even what the ‘In my Garden’ song was called? I used to listen to it all the time as child and now want it for my own classroom.

  4. 4 Donna Hunt March 7, 2017 at 9:50 pm

    I know the tune, need to dig out the words. I think I have them somewhere. I love that song so much and have forgotten about it. Fingers crossed.

  5. 5 Donna Hunt March 7, 2017 at 10:03 pm

    In my garden is a song on page 69 of ‘Music Education for young children’ a text book when I was at Teacher College. There was also a ‘tape’ that went with the book. The words;
    In my garden there is a baby kauri tree x2 In my garden and it’s just about as tall as me.

    – small karaka tree
    – tiny rimu tree
    – little kowhai tree

    Chords C F G, C F G, Am, Dm G C

    Hope that helps.

  6. 7 Amber3 March 7, 2017 at 10:13 pm

    My mother found the CD for me with the song on it (we had it on tape when I was a preschooler)!
    It’s called ‘In my Garden’ and is on the CD ‘If you Ever Meet a Dinosaur’ by ‘Camilla During’. 🙂 You can get it here:
    http://www.marbecks.co.nz/detail/152497/If-You-Ever-Meet-a-Dinosaur
    So happy to have found it!


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


