Green String Bag

Green String Bag

This bag is the product of two casting ons, two patterns and my own improvisation and two weeks sporadic knitting.

It draws (rather strongly) on this and this. The handles came from Elisa’s Nest Tote, and the drawstring (so you can stuff it inside itself and cosy up tight) from Everlasting Bagstopper. The stich pattern came from both. I liked the idea of a solid base which I gleaned from the bagstopper, but took a different approach. I knitted a “square” and cast it off, then picked up stitches around all four side. Using magic loop (which kicks butt) I knit the first round, yo, k the second round, k the third round, yo, k2tog, the fourth round then alternated round three and four. This gave exactly the right number of stitches to cope with the pattern, with no tricky brain gym. When I got to the top (very arbitary, but about 15 inches) I didn’t cast off, just knit the i-cord handle with the live stitches. Elisa’s Nest Tote describes this far more eloqently than I ever could. I knit both handles at the same time so I knew they would be the same length. If I made it again (which I will) I might experiment with one fat handle coming from the point where the handles meet.

Green String Bag  

I decided the inside needed a pocket to put all the essentials in- always handy to have them away from everything else. I picked up some stitches above one of the sides of the original square, matching the length. Again I k one row, yo, k the second row, p the thrid row, yo, k2tog the fourth row then alernated rows 3 and 4. (This time knitting back and fourth, hence the purl row). After about 4 or five rows I picked up the sitches back along the rows I had already knit, then joined it to the bag, this gives the pocket some shape and a wee base. From this row onwards I knit the pocket into the bag using a similar method to joining the I cord.

I appreciate that all those instructions are a bit hard to follow. If you want me to clarify anything further then let me know. When I make another one I will take some photos so you can see what I was doing!

I thouroughly enjoyed knitting this bag- and enjoyed using it today. The stitch is great as it allows for seeingly endless expansion- though I’m sure it has it’s limits. But it was figuring out the pocket that gave me the most satisfaction. When I get my hands on some more cotton, you can tell what I’ll be making!

7 Responses to “Green String Bag”


  1. 2 Megan August 14, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    That’s a great bag, you clever thing.

  2. 3 sherrieg August 14, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Wow, that looks great! I loooooove the colour!

  3. 4 melissa August 15, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    oh, my. i don’t understand that at all. (it’s not your instructions, it’s me.) how clever you are! the bag looks great- so practical.

  4. 5 Zelia August 17, 2007 at 11:23 am

    The bag is beautiful! i love it:)
    Congrats!

  5. 6 Meg September 11, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    jess you are such a little gem,
    i see you wearing your creations when i visit every-so-often, its lovley to hear about how they came to be here. i fully didn’t realise your jacket was a jess original. fantastical…

    this bag is my favourite… is it like the one that you were making on our trip? i have been hunting for a peaked cap with this see-through cottony texture… its awesome.

    im putting this on my bookmarks from now on… may inspire some stitch n bitch action (or was it bobbin buddies?) sometime soon.

    yay… n sorry you couldn’t eat my brownies, ill make some jess friendly ones sometime soon 🙂


  1. 1 Pretty… « proactive bridesmaid Trackback on July 25, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


