It doesn’t look like much….

But I spent an hour in the garden today.

P8150613

Would you believe that after I bought that shiny red fork (you can get away with just a fork right? You don’t need a spade too?) and tried to dig in the raised bed I discovered it was actually a pile of wood with about 10 cm of dirt on top? I could scarcely believe it. Who makes a raised bed like that?

So I got a whole heap of leaf mulch and dug it into the bed to the left. Then I weeded out around all the strawberry plants and put some planks down so they don’t get squashed when I’m digging behind them. Tommorow I’m going to get some plant food and put newspaper down around them.

I piled up some more leaf mulch and will dig it in on the weekend.

I’m not really sure that I’m doing this right. Any advice or pointers in the right direction would be most appreciated!

3 Responses to “It doesn’t look like much….”


  1. 1 melissa August 15, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    good work! i find there’s nothing more satisfying than doing some digging in the garden. i’m a pretty gung-ho gardener with no technical knowledge to speak of, but i think you’re doing fine. let us know when you plant your seedlings!

  2. 2 nuttnbunny August 16, 2007 at 8:52 am

    It DOES look like much. Much hard work. Holy Cow.

    Wishing you great fortitude and rich mulch.

  3. 3 Felicia August 16, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Sounds like you’ve got a great project there. Digging a new bed is always a great workout too 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives


