One little zippered purse (aka ::pink+brown)

PA010081

A new style for me- trial and error (now where did I put that unpicker? Under a big pile of felt at the end of my ironing board, aah here it is!) With some kinks to iron out, and details to add yet.

PA010085

I am getting closer to the possibility of etsy. A leap of faith to come prehaps?

Off I go to my sewing room!

4 Responses to “One little zippered purse (aka ::pink+brown)”


  1. 1 stella from new zealand October 1, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    hi – found you doing a search for nzders on ravelry!, Im a pretty good knitter but a complete newbie at spinning, try day 7 with a spindle – so I think i will be loggin onto see how it goes.
    great blog, and you are right, it dosn’t replace a blog, it goes with

  2. 3 stella October 2, 2007 at 8:17 am

    – I get the powder food dye at a very elite shop – Spotlight! I have dabbled in cake decorating for kids birthdays and read somewhere that powdered stuff from real cake supply shops was better and stronger than liquids, so used that for yarn. There is a specilaist decorating supply cake shop in dunedin and one day I will get there to get an even larger range of colours. The powder stuff comes in a much wider range of colours than the liquid – meaning less guessing and trial and error with mixing.

    btw I have got strong colours using liquid food dye from the supermarket. I did use 2 tablespoons to 100 mls to get strong colour with liquid food dye using a drible/squirty bottle technique.

    With the powder I used 2 small mustard spoon (less than 1/2 tspn?) of powder to 1 litre water with 1/4 cup vinegar to dye strong colours in a pot, but this was to much colour- the dye did not exhaust. My latest batch (not yet blogged) is subtle, with mixed garden colours, rose pinks, lavenders turquoise, fawn and greens. I painted on a very dilute mix of colours onto just damp yarn using a pastry brush, then microwaved. I’m dying faster than i’m knitting at the moment, but its all fun 🙂

  3. 4 caireen October 3, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Yay! the spotty fabric gets used! I forgot to mention the history of that piece, I was given it when I left a job, tied to a stick like the fairytale traveller – y’know? full of sweets! I like the spotty fun-guy above too! I made a wee belt, will have to post it when I finish the others. Cx


Leave a Reply

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


