Some Holiday

Yeah so I’m struggling with this “blog break” a bit. Thing is I don’t need a break- I just need to take one! There has been much activity of the bloggable variety around these parts- headbands, a stencilled tee-shirt, a swap package arriving, new cotton yarn (two packages, one delivery!) a small lament about the lack of nice knitting needles in New Zealand.

You can understand why I rang up the photoshop and asked (if not slightly neurotically) when my camera was going to be ready. They only sent it away today.

So, some more photos of Pithy (as we have come to be very close.) This time Pithy is interacting with some Pseudomonas aeruginosa. It’s pretty cool becuase visibly on the plate the bactreia is inhibiting the fungal growth. (Ok, I get a little excitied in my microbiology class. But because I can’t show you all the cool things I’ve been doing, you are stuck with my fungi. Incidently the 2000 word report is due in a little under 2 weeks.)

DSCN3792

DSCN3786

The fungi is the long blue stringy thing, and the bacteria the blue dots. I’m excited because the blue dots are associating with some parts of the the fungus and not others. Maybe they are eating a secretion? Maybe they are paratisising the hyphae. Apparently it’s a PhD question. Who would have thought?

Tommorow: random photos which may be on my memory card, which I took out of the camera before I handed it over.

Right now, I’m off to swatch on some impossibly small needles, which I suspect they don’t make circulars in. Sigh.

2 Responses to “Some Holiday”


  1. 1 Louise October 8, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Ooh what a lovely shade of blue! These take me back to my uni days when I studied biology. I reckon there are some good patterns in these to copy and screen print. Hmmm

  2. 2 nuttnbunny October 9, 2007 at 5:39 am

    So, um, what kind of knitting needles might you need/want?


Leave a Reply

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


