Whiplash

I’ve never entered Whiplash before, but the necklace I just finished making Marlyn for Christmas falls squarely in the jewellery made from fiber category.

PB150319

I used Rowan Lurex Shimmer to knit beads which were strung together using crochet. I used this eyeball tutorial for the beads (unrecognisable huh?!). At first I made easch bead individually before devising a way to knit them continuously without bereaking them off (I am so good and thrifty and won’t even waste 30 cm of yarn!)

At the end of the first bead, instead of breaking off the yarn, thread both layers through the darning needle:

PB110296

and draw through the 6 stitches. Stuff the bead tightly.

PB110302

Place your crochet hook in the big loop of yarn and pull on the tail attatched to the main ball of yarn, until the loop fits snugly around the crochet hook. Now crochet the linking chain to the next bead. Slip the loop from the crochet hook to the dpn and use it to cast on from.

I used a gold clasp to join the two ends

PB150327

And in order to make it look more polished I sewed back through all the crochet with the yarn, to give a thicker joining chain to balance the large size of the beads. I will definately be making another one of these necklaces, and maybe experimenting with adding a second layer of beads.

4 Responses to “Whiplash”


  1. 1 simoneqdm November 16, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Looks great! Love the choice of clasp.

  2. 2 mary jane November 17, 2007 at 2:06 am

    This is brilliant! I hope you win! What a clever girl you are!

  3. 3 Louise November 19, 2007 at 9:13 am

    That is really impressive. I would never have thought to make it but it looks really great!

  4. 4 Lies November 19, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    I love it all! Georgeous necklace, funkeehee teatowel, oh good on you -no more school and new job – just like that, cool telephone thing (table, stool, cupboard). I think I can fill a whole comment-section with naming that telephone dada.
    Lies


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives


