Q. When is a zucchini not a zucchini?

a) When it is (almost) a marrow

b) When it is a chocolate cake

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while. A friend has a garden at work, and when this beauty grew over the weekend I jumped at the chance to make one of these cakes. So moist and rich (all white flour, no chocolate chips, slightly more zucchini than called for.) Delicious.

7 Responses to “Q. When is a zucchini not a zucchini?”


  1. 1 Pauline February 12, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Mmmmm, looks yummy. We’re managing to catch our zucchini before they morph but that cake is a good excuse for letting one grow.

  2. 2 Louise February 12, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Yummo! I think I need to plant some zucchini next year! There is an annabel langbein recipe I’ve been meaning to try that is a cake in which you include either grated zucchini or pumpkin – I guess it is similar to your one.

  3. 3 Simone February 14, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Well now I know what the valentines activity will be…. to use to big zucchinis in my garden to make a naughty cake! Wooo hooo. Happy Valentines day by the way 🙂

  4. 4 Carolyn February 14, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Yum, yum AND YUMMM!!!

    Love your laminex cabinet tops too!

  5. 5 Ellen February 16, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    That has zucchini in it? Looks too rich and yummy to have a vegetable hiding in there.

  6. 6 michelle February 21, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    an addition of a handful of lucsious red fleshed plums chopped up to the mixture and the cake served with stewed plums – our current excess – also adds to the results!! Also the mixture is not quite so dry.
    will definitely save this recipe.

  7. 7 caireen February 23, 2008 at 1:43 am

    I was going to say Yum – but they beat me to it! This is one of my favourite combinations at the moment – the recipe I have suggests adding cherries, but I have added cranberries (and sometimes walnuts) and that makes a very tasty little muffin.

    Thanks so much for the beautful necklace – up on my blog today xx


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Archives


