My life as a quilt

For my 21st birthday Mum made me a quilt, using fabric scraps in her stash left over from projects she made for me while I was growing up.

The houses in the side panels are from a bedspread I had on my bed for years, there are pieces from the curtains I had in my bedroom, and dresses and tops I wore when I was little. The stripe is from a maternity dress Mum wore while she was expecting me.

The flowery peice in the middle is from a smocked dress I remember wearing to the Bainham Christmas Party, with the badge with my name on it my Grandparents gave me pinned on the front. In my mind I wore it for years, though I’m sure it only fit me for a couple.

While I knew she was making me a quilt, this was nothing like I was expecting, and opening it brought tears to my eyes. Accompaning it was a gift voucher which I used to buy a self-healing mat and rotary cutter of my own. Quilting? Watch this space.

2 Responses to “My life as a quilt”


  1. 1 sherrieg August 14, 2008 at 1:36 am

    That’s beautiful! I must admit, I teared up a bit when reading about your quilt. Your mom must be one special person. 🙂

  2. 2 Louise August 14, 2008 at 10:44 am

    What a lovely story! I like that you have so many memories bound up in the quilt.

    I bought a cutting mat, ruler and rotary cutter a couple of months ago and I love them. Don’t know why I didn’t get one years ago. No more wonky cutting!


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives


