Two Quilts

When Nana passed away my Aunties had the extreme privilege of nursing her at home, where she was surrounded by family and love, and always had someone at her side, holding her hand. At some stage they decided to cut her nighties, so they could get them on and off more easily, and I asked if I could have two of them- the cotton weave with flower prints reminding me of quilting fabrics. I paired the two prints, one pink and one purple with semi-solid pink, purple and green fabrics, and adapted an Irish Chain pattern to have two colour ways.

I call them ‘Nana’s Garden’ because of the way the green grass paths border the flower beds.

I made both quilts at the same time- piecing all the blocks I needed for two tops, then quilting them seperately.

They are all strip peiced on my machine, then hand and machine quilted. I machine quilted the bought fabrics, and hand quilted the soft, worn, nightie fabrics. It gave me a chance to sit and stitch a while- and it feels like the quilts have a part of me in them, and me a part  of them.

I like the pattern that appeared on the back just as much as the front- the unexpected way the lines crossed to give a suble reflection of the front.

And viewed from the back, with the sun shining through, they take on a stained glass window appearance.

These quilts aren’t perfect- not all the corners of the squares match up in the blocks (but some do!), and the backing has been caught and sewn folded in places, but it doesn’t matter- they are finsihed and that’s far better than a perfectly unfinished quilt.

On the back I sewed a dedication panel which I embroidered on a scrap of the sturdier, pink, nightie fabric.

6 Responses to “Two Quilts”


  1. 1 Pauline November 1, 2008 at 11:01 am

    What a beautiful tribute to your Nana.

  2. 2 sherrieg November 1, 2008 at 11:02 am

    They’re beautiful, Jessicah!

  3. 3 Louise November 3, 2008 at 6:05 am

    Oh my goodness, they are just beautiful. What a wonderful idea.

  4. 5 Jasmine November 7, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Well done – they look beautiful! What a great idea for a keepsake of your Nanna.

  5. 6 SewMamaLady March 31, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Thank you for sharing your quilts and your story. It’s a very lovely homage to your grandmother.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives


