The kind of project I love.

I spent an hour under the guise of looking for this issue of ‘Your Home and Garden’ (August ’08) flicking through my magazine collection, only to disregard most of the instructions. A good excuse for unpacking them I guess. My naked ironing board has been wearing a towel and a piece of tye-dye for way too long!

 I used a sheet I thrifted on the weekend- fresh off the line. The middle was pretty worn, but a strip around the outside was just the right width for my ironing board. I chopped up an old towel and used it for the padding, and used some vintage bias tape to finish it off. There’s some elastic in that there casing to hold it on the board. An hour and a half later, and no nipping out to the shops for anything!

And I used the right side of the worn part of the sheet for the bottom- I stitched the towelling onto this piece. I like how the pattern shows through the bottom of the board.

3 Responses to “The kind of project I love.”


  1. 1 theriperadish November 25, 2008 at 12:02 am

    It came out great! Why don’t they make fabric patterns like this anymore?

  2. 2 Mary Nanna November 26, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Nice use of an old sheet..nice thrifting there. Very impressed that you actually made a craft project out of Your Home etc.. I just thought they were there to look pretty!


  1. 1 Christmas Ornament Swap « Spinning a Yarn Trackback on December 6, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives


